The International Festival of Films for the Young Audience "Ale Kino!" enters the 21st century with the tradition and heritage spanning nearly forty years and, at the same time, with plenty of fresh ideas and propositions for the future. We are convinced that this film festival is on course to becoming an important landmark in Poland's cultural life. We treat the preparations with great passion and commitment, being confident of its ultimate success. We invite everyone to join us in our efforts for the Festival's benefit.

The Festival basic concept rests on the idea of presenting to the public the authentic and unique world of the young people and giving expression to the true face of the young generation.

The Festival presents and promotes films of merit aimed at children and youngsters. The festival helps to stimulate distribution of such movies and doubles up as a forum for meetings and discussions for film directors, critics, producers, distributors, teachers and educationalists and, last but not least, for the young viewers themselves. The actual shows and various forms of supporting educational events help to perceive the Festival as an important part of the young people's education.

The International Festival of Films for the Young Audience "Ale Kino!" is the unique event of this type in Poland. It evolved from local animated cartoon and children's film festivals held in Poznań during the 1960's. Since 1969 a bi-annual national festival had been organised, and in 1994 it underwent substantial transformation, becoming an international event, held annually, and presenting films specifically for the young audience. Thanks to this formula, Polish viewers gained access to lesser known, but none the less revealing and attractive films and movies from across the world.

Past award-winners and guests at the festival included Yurek Bogayevicz, Filip Bajon, Jacek Bromski, Krzesimir Dębski, Piotr Dumała, Waldemar Dziki, Katarzyna Figura, Jolanta Fraszyńska, Leszek Gałysz, Witold Giersz, Robert Gliński, Krzysztof Gradowski, Roman Gutek, Cezary Harasimowicz, Marek Hendrykowski, Stanisław Jędryka, Jan A.P. Kaczmarek, Jerzy Kamas, Maria Kaniewska, Dorota Kędzierzawska, Andrzej Kołodyński, Zygmunt Konieczny, Aleksandra Korejwo, Krystyna Krupska-Wysocka, Sławomir Kryński, Jerzy Kucia, Stanisław Lenartowicz, Michał Lorenc, Magdalena Łazarkiewicz, Piotr Łazarkiewicz, Paweł Łoziński, Jan Machulski, Andrzej Maleszka, Piotr Mularuk, Janusz Nasfeter, Władysław Nehrebecki, Małgorzata Pieczyńska, Jerzy Satanowski, Anna Sokołowska, Danuta Stenka, Waldemar Szarek, Daniel Szczechura, Kazimierz Tarnas, Maciej Wojtyszko and Jarosław Żamojda.

Over the years the Festival has hosted a great number of foreign guests and visitors, including makers of all presented films from all corners of the world, as well as executive directors of international children's film festivals from Montreal, Mexico City, Chicago, Frankfurt, Bratislava, Oulu, Bellinzona, Levallois-Perret, Seoul, London and Berlin.